California – Joshua Tree National Park

My journey in California is about to end, so I am trying to check few places off my wish list. Last weekend I checked Joshua Tree National Park.

I drove from San Diego and took me 3 hours to get to Joshua Tree National Park. The landscape changes drastically as you get closer, you can see the desert taking over and you can feel the pace of the town also changing.

I arrived just before 3pm, it was enough time to find a campsite and go for a walk before sunset. I chose to stay at Jumbo Rocks Campground, because I read some really good reviews on Hipcamp. It was really nice to camp in the middle of the rocks, it seems you are in a different planet.

Most of the campgrounds have no water at all and use compost toilets, so plan on that. The campsites usually have a picnic table, a fireplace and a small barbecue. This time I decided to sleep in the car, It was sooo cold and windy. And ok, I was lazy too.

There are many trails for hiking and amazing spots for climbers. But what I love the most, was admiring┬áthe sky at night. The night is so dark you can see so many stars and constellations… SURREAL.

Park fee: U$20

Campground fee: from U$15 to U$20

Leave a Reply

